Princess Dad

pretty dad

 

I’m not pretty by nature. Well I’m a guy, so…

Imagine Jake from State Farm commercials, except I rock the khakis.

But sometimes we have to switch gears for those around us. Sometimes we have to change our nature. Sometimes we have to humble ourselves, and don the tiara.

As a dad, I know my daughters used to love it when I stepped out of my comfort zone for them. At one time, their favorite game was Pretty Pretty Princess. If you’re not familiar with it, all the players eventually wear earrings, necklaces, rings and a crown.

ALL the players.

Even us dads.

Yippee.

Not my idea of fun. Luckily, this was at a time when my daughters did not have cell phones, or the ability to instagram dad into humiliation among my peers. The truth is, I rocked my girly side! Not because I have some hidden desire to wear a dress or try out makeup, but because I love my daughters. I love the sounds of their laughter. I love their smiles. I love relating to them, on their level. So if it takes a little costume jewelry to bring that out, so be it. I used to write lesson plans while they would crawl all over me, painting my face with lipstick, and pinning dangly gems to my ears.

I looked hideous.

Worse than Jake from State Farm.

But they were happy.

And isn’t that what we do for our students?

Perhaps not the makeup or the rings. Not even the tiara. Well, maybe a cool masculine crown would be alright.

But we will embarrass ourselves for them. We will sing, we will dance, we will draw in front of the, though most of us struggle with stick figures. We write, we solve problems, and we alter our voices, morphing into various characters to enhance our read alouds. We do whatever it takes so they know we are just like them, except older. And cooler.

It may not be pretty, but it leaves a pretty cool impression. It build pretty awesome memories. It reminds us that life can be a pretty amazing experience.

 

img_4284-3

One thought on “Princess Dad

  1. I often differentiate between my kids and my children, since it’s sometimes hard to tell if I’m referring to the 150 7th graders I teach, or my own two munchkins. Yet, I hadn’t really thought about the connection between the play we do with our children and the lengths we’ll go to for our students. Thanks for sharing and it sounds like both your girls and your students are lucky!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.