Flawed Wonder

  
A friend of mine renovated his bathroom recently, and it is beautiful. It has warm earth tones, an architectural faucet, and a gorgeous marble-tiled floor. But the centerpiece of the room is the vanity. It is stunning. When you enter the room, your eyes are immediately drawn to its’ beauty, and you marvel at its’ composition.

Shattered glass.
Broken beauty. Flawed wonder.
Light gently refracts in all directions, as you carefully run your hand over the surface, expecting rough shards, only to find that your fingers glide smoothly across.
Initially, I was shocked by the vanity’s beauty. I spend much of my life trying to make things look right, fit right, feel right, and be right. I avoid things that are broken, fractured, or flawed. It’s similar to how I deal with my own realities. I’m prone to cover my flaws, or to be embarrassed by my inadequacies.
But this vanity was chosen. Selected precisely because of its’ flaws. The beauty emanated from brokenness.
And I’m reminded that we are each fearfully and wonderfully made by a Creator, who loves us, in our broken states. He chooses us; fractures, flaws, and all.
My part in his story is marked by brokenness, but my role is beautiful. I am chosen, crafted by an author who is fully aware of my flaws, and yet has covered me with his love. A grace that smooths out my fractured shards, and allows His light to shine through me.

8 thoughts on “Flawed Wonder

  1. Wow – amazing! What an interesting analogy. “My part in his story is marked by brokenness, but my role is beautiful.” I had a Facebook friend post a picture of her infant daughter, now in grade school, with a severe cleft palate. At first, I was taken aback by its severity, but then I read her status, and I looked at her picture so full of joy and love, and I was smitten with that little baby. Now she has gone through surgeries and is healing, but I loved that her mother was so confident in her daughter’s perfect sweetness that she posted that flawed but beautiful baby. So perfect in her imperfections.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. And goosebumps.

    A piece of beauty. A work of art. Nothing broken. Nothing flawed.

    I’m so thankful you shared this with me. I am broken and flawed just as you, but always amazed at the story He continues to write for me.

    Yes:
    “A grace that smooths out my fractured shards, and allows His light to shine through me.”

    Thank you for this gift today.
    Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I spend much of my life trying to make things look right, fit right, feel right, and be right.”-Bingo! Thanks for the reminder that we are all okay and will be okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg, great reminder of a Grace great enough to smooth the shards of brokenness. I always emphasize writer’s moves and craft to my student writers. How profound and very good to be part of a story of a Master writer-crafter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

