Beneath Me

IMG_3186-0
Today is the Christian celebration of Holy Thursday, also known as Maundy Thursday. It is typically a solemn service, commemorating the Last Supper on the night before the crucifixion of Christ. Many of the services will have some type of special communion oberseravtion, as well as a cermonial foot washing.
.
Now I know the foot washing has its’ origins in a custom, culture, and time far removed from my own. But then, as it would be now, it was a very humbling gesture, to lower oneself and wash the feet of another. I’ve never done it, or had it done.
.
It feels beneath me.
.
It’s not that I sit high atop some socio-economic perch. I’m not high-brow. My name has no cache. While I realize that in the eyes of the One who created me I am fearfully and wonderfully made; in my eyes, faulty as they may be, I am a relative unknown. A regular guy. Nothing special.
.
And I still find it beneath me.
.
It’s not that I’m not willing to do dirty work. While my normal profession (teacher) may not be considered blue-collar, I’ve still had the willingness to do disgusting tasks when the need arose. I’ve gotten muddy. I’ve worked in sewage. I’ve been covered in muck and mire.
.
But something about foot washing feels too personal. Like an awkward invasion of my personal space. Exposing my less than desirable feetsies and toesies. Humbling, or worse, humiliating.
.
And perhaps that is the point.
.
Perhaps that is the message of the supper, the foot washing, and the surrender to the cross.
.
Perhaps it isn’t a message of weakness, but of strength. That nothing is beneath His willingness to serve.
.
Perhaps there is victory to be found in surrendering myself to service. Perhaps there is freedom in choosing to make myself beneath others.
.
Perhaps when I choose the descension of my pride, a door is opened for the ascension of my spirit.
image
8 thoughts on “Beneath Me

  1. Greg, I find it wonderful in away. It is a deeper fellowship and draws us closer to Him. Remember, Jesus told Peter that if he did let Jesus wash his feet, then he had no part of him. Jesus set the example of love and service. When we obey we become more at one with Him.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jesus modeled servant leadership for us because He is the ultimate giver. If only I could ascend to being such a giver without the whining behind it. Thank you for deep thinking that leads others to do the same, Gregg.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had this done. It’s completely an invasion! There is definitely something said for serving, but there is something for allowing yourself to be served. I think you nailed it with the idea of Surrender, and that is so hard to do. I really enjoyed the honesty and reflection of this piece.

    Like

  4. Greg, I always appreciate your open honesty. When I taught middle school years ago my my division team and I washed our students’ feet on Maundy Thursday. Even though it was well over a decade ago I remember one young lady who did NOT want to initially let me wash her feet. She said she felt embarrassed and like she was disrespecting me. It was a powerful object lesson to service. I think surrender and connected community is indeed a big part of what it is all about as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

