Sleep Walk

IMG_2818

(My response to a writing prompt offered by April Moore)
http://www.apriljmoore.com/

“I wouldn’t drink that; it has epiphanous traces in it.”

I offered a quizzical glare.

“Trust me, Stephen. If you sip on that, you may awaken.”

I set the steaming cup of tea down. The aroma was inviting, but I had labored mightily these past several months to develop the grey cloud that I hovered in.

My protective shell. My catatonic blanket, shielding me from the memories.

I preferred my sleep walk. Day into night had been lost for months. All had turned to a comfortable haze. What had formerly felt like profound loneliness, now was abstract solitude. I was no longer missing anyone, I was practicing independence.

Life as an island was a peaceful drift. Too much of the past had been in torrents, trying to connect with others, only to be cast against the waves.

Keep your tea, and your broken promises.

One thought on “Sleep Walk

Comments are closed.