Eyes on the Prize

IMG_2748

A handful of educators have been taking time to reflect on our “One Little Word” memes to start the year. This week, we focus on the word, “LOOK”, and consider its’ implications on our spiritual journey.

As I ponder the many directions this term takes me, I have to begin with the foundational principle, that I’m created to look to Him.

1. A Baby’s Eyes Open –

Ps 105:4 Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.

You know that breath-taking moment when a newborn’s eyes open for the first time? It is as if they are taking in the whole world. Their eyes reflect all the wonder and awe held out before them. Their eyes reflect glory.

From birth, my eyes are cast upon my creator. I look to him for my identity. I look to him for my sustenance. I look to him to make sense out of this world.

He is my beginning, my end, and all my days in between. He is my reason, my wonder, and my reward.

He is the prize.

But while my heart may wonder, my eyes often wander. To lesser prizes. To inferior rewards.

And I wander, and wonder,
Where has He gone?

2. Weary, Bleary, Bloodshot Eyes –

Ps 69:3 I am worn out calling for help; my throat is parched.
My eyes fail, looking for my God.

The matriarchs and patriarchs of faith have also been wanderers. They have gone through seasons of doubt. They have endured long stretches of disappointment, and been left spiritually parched. They have knocked without doors being opened. They have called out, without answer.

They have searched without finding.

The truth is, that this spiritual journey is often uphill. And lonely. Even when I am promised He is with me, I can feel forgotten. Relegated. Discarded.

This is the truth of my experience, but it is not the truth of my reality.

Because my truth,
isn’t always true.

So I continue to look,
hoping to soon see,
more clearly.

Hoping to soon see,
Him.

3. The Radiant Light, and Radiant Heat in Your Eyes –

Ps 34:5 Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.

This wonderful journey is crazy, confusing, arduous, and revealing. I hope that while I travel along, with my eyes learning to be fixed on Him, that I will glow a little. That from time to time, my spirit will flicker, and those around me will see love, patience, compassion, and kindness. That I will be radiant.

That they will see Him, in me.

Our world needs light. I need light.

And it resides in His eyes.

“Your Eyes”
~ Peter Gabriel
…in your eyes
the light the heat
in your eyes
I am complete
in your eyes
I see the doorway to a thousand churches
in your eyes
the resolution of all the fruitless searches
in your eyes
I see the light and the heat
in your eyes
oh, I want to be that complete
I want to touch the light
the heat I see in your eyes

4 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. I echo your longing in this lines: “This wonderful journey is crazy, confusing, arduous, and revealing. I hope that while I travel along, with my eyes learning to be fixed on Him, that I will glow a little…That I will be radiant.” It is an ongoing challenge to learn to fix our eyes on Him. You’ve captured that journey so eloquently in this post. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Lines that resonate with me: “I look to him for my identity. I look to him for my sustenance. I look to him to make sense out of this world.” This is such a soothing thought, Greg. Eyes on the Prize is a gift made complete by the Gabriel song. thank you for your insight.

    Like

Comments are closed.