A Caged Bird Searching for His Song

2015/01/img_2119.jpg

The idea of flight is extraordinary. Freedom. Soaring. Gliding. Uninhibited. Without boundaries.

When I was younger I used to sprint in the fields, hoping, almost believing, that I could fly. Pumping legs, thrusting arms, leaning forward for takeoff. For a few brief moments, my feet left the ground. I soared, be it ever so slightly, among the winged beings that tasted flight.

It was exhilarating.

Yet for me, wings can also mean flying beyond my boundaries. Flirting with discontent and wanderlust. My restless heart yearning to explore the riches beyond, but perhaps failing to notice blessings around me.

“I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove!
I would fly away and be at rest.
I would flee far away
and stay in the desert;
I would hurry to my place of shelter,
far from the tempest and storm.” – Psalm 55:6-8

Sometimes, I need to rest in the storms of life.

I need to breathe for a moment, and remember that He has placed my boundary lines in pleasant places. It is difficult to accept this harsh reality, that we each have boundary lines. My energy is not limitless. My resources are not unending. My talents are capped.

But can this caged bird find his voice? Can I sing within these boundaries? While there are limits, they are vast within Him. I have room to spread out, to explore, and to grow. I can fly above this valley. I can soar in the clouds. I can follow migratory paths that He has ordained.

When I choose contentment, I can fly AND be at rest, simultaneously.

8 thoughts on “A Caged Bird Searching for His Song

  1. Love the idea of the caged bird and boundaries, pleasant boundaries. Your final words say so much, “When I choose contentment, I can fly AND be at rest, simultaneously.” Love thinking about the paradox of flying and being at rest at the same time.

    Like

  2. Wow! What a deep, deep post. “Sometimes I need to rest in the storms of life” is one of the many lines that make me think tonight. Being the book nerd that I am, your opening reminds me of the opening of Bridge to Terabithia!

    Like

  3. Wow. I love that you equated flying and running. The image of the bird is beautiful! “Yet for me, wings can also mean flying beyond my boundaries. Flirting with discontent and wanderlust. My restless heart yearning to explore the riches beyond, but perhaps failing to notice blessings around me. ” Learning contentment while still flying alongside all of God’s promises is one of the keys to happiness!

    Like

  4. This post brought tears to my eyes! It took my breath away! Seeing my word through wise eyes, such as yours, brings me such joy!!! There is so much here. Thank you for the gift of these words. Thank you for your perspective! Thank you for the song you shared with me when I shared my word!! That song inspired a playlist that continues to grow. I am blessed to know you through this blog. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Beautiful. Simply beautiful. It’s so powerful to be content and trust in His boundaries . . . they are so much more powerful than anything my humble mind can imagine. Thank you for sharing, Greg.

    Like

Leave a Reply

