Finding My Strong: 2015 Running Goals

image

If you have come to this post I must warn you, this specific blog entry is not meant to provoke thinking or share insightful reflection. This is merely an opportunity for me to publicly proclaim my 2015 running goals. My intent is to inspire myself and others with these goals, and my consistent pursuit of them as I train through the year. I want to find my strong. These targets are predicated on staying injury-free. I realize that health and weather will factor into actual finish times, but I am merely concerned with giving my best effort at each event. I can be proud of any finish time when I give my best effort. Also, I am participating in the Twitter #500in2015 challenge. The miles I run are dedicated to my “I Run 4” buddy, Orion Withrow. Since the Orion’s Belt constellation has 3 dominant stars, and my buddy is one of 3 amazing children, I am planning to run 1000 miles this year: 250 miles for his brother Skyler, 250 miles for his sister Anastasia, and 500 miles for my buddy Orion. Superstar parents Thomas and Heather get any extra miles. By giving so much of themselves, this family inspires me to give my best as well. (If you want to learn more about running for a special child through the “I Run 4” program, visit their website.) Here are my 2015 running challenges:

.
January: Frozen Gnome 10K (Had a blast in -20 winds!)

.
February: 52 mile ultra (to celebrate entering my 52nd year!) (*DNF – injury)

.
March: 1/2 marathon under 2hrs (weather-permitting) [Finish time: 2:02:33]

.
April: Volunteer at local race (offered to help, didn’t connect with staff)

.
May: Lead >100 students and their families in local 5K; (Over 130 particpants from my school; race went great!)

.
June: Local 5K as a volunteer partner for wheel-chair student. (Did not connect with a partner to compete.)

.
July & August: Lead a Team Oasis training group for Fall race.

.
September: (1) Alpine Races Half-Marathon; (2) Quad Cities Marathon

.
October: (1) Milwaukee Marathon, (2) Des Plaines Trail Marathon, (3) Volunteer at Chicago Marathon

.
November: 6K for Water

.
December: Santa Run 

.

If anyone is reading this that is new to running, take heart. I just began running 5 years ago. To be honest, I hated it at first, but it was an effective way to shed pounds and clear my head. I have come to identify myself as a runner, and I crave the opportunities to log miles. Some of these are run socially, with friends in various run clubs. Many of my miles are solitary, used as a way to play with lesson plans, writing ideas, or to reflect on my spiritual journey. But all of these miles are run in an effort to be the best version of myself. 

Find Your Strong in 2015! 

Greg

4 thoughts on “Finding My Strong: 2015 Running Goals

  1. Thank you for the inspiring post. I like that you mentioned you just started running 5 years ago, because it’s a journey I have yet to start and it can seem daunting. Nice to know we are all beginners at some point. Love the statement about wanting to be the “best version of yourself”…something we ALL need to strive toward!! #compelledtribe

    Jon

    Like

  2. Inspiring post! I am not a runner, but I want to find my strong in 2015 which includes being healthy, focused, and believing in my potential. Looking forward to following your blog. #compelledtribe

    Like

Leave a Reply

