LIGHT Learning

image

MT 11:30 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me…for my yoke is easy and my burden is LIGHT.

Goals for the new year – can feel like a heavy burden. I can begin to feel like epic failure when I feel like I’m not reaching them. But is the purpose to reach them, or reach for them? Am I only growing if I attain all that I set out to accomplish? I’ll never be fully like Him, but just striving to walk like Him is all that he asks. I need to remember this.

When I come up with new goals, my spirit is LIGHT, and excited about new challenges, ideas, and possibilities. But if I let those goal become measurements that define me, versus guideposts that encourage me forward, my spirit becomes darkened. Instead of reflecting on the steps I have taken forward, I begin to see only the steps that I have missed, or how I somehow wandered off the original path.

So as I set to dive into 2015, I want dwell in the fact that pursuing my goals, and pursuing Him, is a LIGHT burden. It is a journey of learning, and becoming. It is a venture that will be filled with errors and mistakes, and immeasurable mercy and grace.

3 thoughts on “LIGHT Learning

  1. I love how you turned to the light, not heavy, definition of light. This resonated with me, “But if I let those goal become measurements that define me, versus guideposts that encourage me forward, my spirit becomes darkened.” I have chosen the word Reach as my OLW for 2015. I will keep in mind that my goals are my path, not the end of the journey. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Greg, this is a wonderful follow-up post to your earlier one on your OLW for 2015. I can imagine you diving into 2015 with intent and purpose. I like your reflective thought that perhaps the road is easy if you REACH FOR your goals rather than REACH THEM.

    Like

Comments are closed.