We, White Teachers of Mostly White Students, We Have a Lot of Work to Do

Kudos, Jess. As teachers, we have not only the opportunity, but also the responsibility, to teach young hearts and minds about the creative genius of all races.

Crawling Out of the Classroom

The tragedy of Ferguson, and the much larger tragedy of race in this country in general, will not leave my mind. My thoughts will not quiet. My anger will not lessen. My tears will not stop flowing. And I am thankful that this is the case. I am thankful to be bothered by the injustice that exists in this country.  I am thankful to feel anger about the things that I know are not right even though I do not know how we even begin to fix them.  I am thankful to feel saddened by the reactions of my white friends and family when I bring up these injustices. I am thankful that I am not willing to just move on.

Because the truth is that we, white teachers of mostly white students, we have a lot of work to do.

In the days since the non-indictment, I have craved…

View original post 1,505 more words

Leave a Reply

