Glory


Fellow teacher and inspiring friend Holly Mueller runs a spiritual journey meme on her blog each Thursday, inviting other friends to link up their own reflections. This week is her topic is “To the Glory of God Alone”.

So I’ve been thinking about glory, and where I tend to ascribe it, or how I try to secure it for myself. You know glory – that abundance of credit, attention, or outright praise that we offer up to various celebrities, pursuits, hobbies or possessions. I can find myself easily given to fawning over the immense talents or accomplishments of people covered in the media. I can get quickly lost in my own interests, and the sense of joy and purpose they provide, and begin to believe that they are critical to my overall well-being. At times, I succumb to the subtle lies suggesting that true contentment rests in the ownership of the latest and greatest technological advances, or the most prestigious of brand names.

I take my eyes of the Creator, and begin to worship the created.

At other times I find I am looking to collect glory for my own purposes. I want the acknowledgement from others that I matter. That my efforts have import. That my talents are special. That my legacy is secure. None of these desires, on their face, are inherently evil. In truth, I was created fearfully and wonderfully – and so there is a type of glory that is associated with that. But I had no part in my own creation. I’m a character, not the author. I did not gift myself with the talents and I abilities that I am fortunate to possess. They were given to me, as presents, by the One who made me, in His image.

The glory belongs, once again, not to the created, but to the Creator. Not to the imperfect one who was made in His image, but to the Author and Perfecter.

When I remember where the glory belongs, my soul finds rest, free from trying to secure what doesn’t belong to me.

And that rest, that peace of the soul, is glorious.

IMG_1447.JPG

3 thoughts on “Glory

  1. I love how you challenge yourself to look at life from His perspective. That your gifts belong to Him. Rest in the peace of Him — stunning image.

    Like

  2. I love this part: ” I’m a character, not the author. I did not gift myself with the talents and I abilities that I am fortunate to possess. They were given to me, as presents, by the One who made me, in His image. “

    Like

Leave a Reply

