Patience – How Much is Enough?

image

I’ve been mulling over the topic of patience, and I’m kind of torn in my reflection. In some respects, I think that I prove to be a patient person, able to listen thoughtfully, and be fully present in the moment with my students. Able to trust God’s timing with the desires of my heart.

In other contexts, I’m often lacking in patience, especially in the relationships in my own household. In matters of conflict, more often than I like, I can become quickly agitated with my wife or daughters when I detect tension mounting, rather than having the patience to listen completely and discuss the matter calmly. I also lack a personal patience, at times burdening myself with a feelings of diminished value because I haven’t accomplished goals or undergone internal transformations in the manner I had expected of myself.

But these examples lead me to an issue that seems to go hand-in-hand with patience – the concept of “being enough”. I am coming to realize that when I struggle with patience, often times it revolves around the question of me trusting that God is enough for me, or that I, washed in the grace of His son, am enough for Him. My head knows the answers to these foundational questions, but sometimes my heart struggles to trust His promises. The promise that He is my great and precious reward. The promise that I am fearfully and wonderfully made in the image of His Son.

So when I am impatient, I am often just wrestling to accept these truths. The truth that He is more than enough for me. The truth that because of the sacrifice of His son, I am more than enough for him. Trusting in these realities, I can tap into a wealth of patience for myself, and the people around me.

 

3 thoughts on “Patience – How Much is Enough?

  1. I think you bring up very good points in this piece. One of the most important things I believe is to be able to recognize when we are impatient. When I feel myself reach this point sometimes I walk away just to regroup. I also freely admit to students that even adults get angry and impatient. It’s what we do once we feel that way that matters.

    Like

  2. This seems like such an important truth – that impatience is actually a manifestation of not trusting that God is enough, or that I am enough. This line speaks volumes: “I am coming to realize that when I struggle with patience, often times it revolves around the question of me trusting that God is enough for me, or that I, washed in the grace of His son, am enough for Him.” Thank you for these insightful thoughts, Greg!! You always make me think about the Truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

