The Beauty of Surrender

image 

 

One of my respected PLN colleagues, Holly Mueller, opens up her blog (http://hollymueller.blogspot.com/2014/07/spiritual-journey-thursday-you-dont.html) each Thursday and invite friends to join her in posting reflections on their spiritual journey. This week the topic is Beauty. Holly asks us what is beautiful, and how can we use that for God?

I pondered that for a bit. I have an appreciation for beauty, but much of what our culture purports as beautiful is fickle, unhealthy, and applied to mask what is natural. It seems to me that often what is truly beautiful has depth, substance, and constancy.

After reflecting on the stories and principles in scripture, as well as the people that I have had the pleasure of knowing who I treasure as beautiful, one constant stood above the rest. It is not a characteristic that I would naturally pursue. It is not something that we often praise or reward people for achieving. It is often not accompanied by accolades or prestige. Yet the people who have it are radiant. They are the friends or family that we go to when we need guidance, counsel, affirmation or refuge. We find ourselves drawn to an intangible force that dwells deep within these precious souls, yet overflows in all their interactions. We want to be with them. We want what they have, even if we can’t quite specify what “it” is.

I think these precious souls have discovered the beauty of surrender.

They have given up.
They stopped trying.
They let go.
They lost their love for the chase.

You can see it in their pace.
You can sense it in their contentment.
You can hear it in their voice.

They realized that surrender isn’t losing,
but winning.
At least winning peace.
And sanity.
And the ability to enjoy each moment.

Surrender. The recognition that despite my greatest efforts, I can’t control things. The acknowledgement that my value is already determined, and I don’t have to look into the eyes of other people to find it. The acceptance that the days of my life extend way beyond the days of my body. The understanding that someone greater, smarter, stronger, kinder, and wiser than I am has a plan for my life, and that plan is better than anything I could ever imagine. I don’t have to look out for number one, because the One and only is looking out for me.

I can surrender.
I can let go.
I can relinquish my plans and pursuits.

Because surrender unleashes peace.
Because surrender is the path to victory.
Because surrender unveils beauty.

4 thoughts on “The Beauty of Surrender

  1. I love how you said “the One and only is looking out for me”!

    What a beautiful and inspiring post. You certainly have a way with words.

    Praise The Lord!

    Shannon
    http/::www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. I agree with Jaana — I need those words as well. Beautiful post, Greg. I agree completely, beauty is so much deeper than the skin. It’s in the soul of a person, the spirit, the love, and the surrender to Him. I appreciate your words. Thank you for sharing your gift.

    Like

  3. Greg, these words especially touched my heart tonight: “The understanding that someone greater, smarter, stronger, kinder, and wiser than I am has a plan for my life, and that plan is better than anything I could ever imagine. I don’t have to look out for number one, because the One and only is looking out for me.” I think I should frame these words and place them somewhere where I see them on a daily basis. Thank you.

    Like

Comments are closed.