One Thing

Mindfulness is a wonderful topic, and one I wouldn’t mind being more fully invested in. Though outwardly I don’t think it shows, inwardly, my mind seems to work in two gears – turbo, or off.
My thoughts are either zinging around’ like the multitude of menu selections at a family restaurant, or stationary, as the options available in my box of Cheerios.
This is one reason why I like to go for long runs. It exhausts my body, and focuses my mind. But on most days, a long run isn’t a feasible option. So I have to learn how to be mindful in the moments. I have to learn how to be present, in the present.
I have to focus on the one thing.

Psalm 27:4
“One thing I ask from The Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of The Lord
all the days of my life
to gaze on the beauty of The Lord
and to seek him in his temple.”

I have a to-do list buzzing in my mind. I know that for every item I complete, a few more will take it’s place. I have responsibilities that await me, opportunities that call out to me, and new horizons to explore. But in this moment, I will center my thoughts, rest my heart, and be mindful that there is only one thing my soul needs.

20140710-091454-33294092.jpg

4 thoughts on “One Thing

  1. The last line of that scripture was a reminder for me today: ” to seek him in his temple” There really isn’t anything more important in my life!

    Like

  2. Oh, I love that scripture. Beautiful. I laughed at your comparisons – “zinging aroundโ€™ like the multitude of menu selections at a family restaurant” and “stationary, as the options available in my box of Cheerios.” I can relate. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thank you for your wonderful words.

    Like

  3. “There is only one thing my soul needs.” Nice post. Love the image. I wish I could do this everyday, sit in mindfulness.

    Like

Comments are closed.