The Gold Standard of Friendship

“Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the
other gold”.
~ Girl Scout motto.

My friend and PLN colleague Holly Mueller (happy 25th anniversary to you and Ed!) invites us to reflect and post each Thursday about our spiritual journey. This week, I’m reflecting on the close friends who “do life” with me. They see the good, bad, and garishly ugly sides of me, and still manage to love me as a brother.

This morning I’m going to meet Tim S. for breakfast. I met Tim during my first weeks in high school. I was a few years removed from the death of my father, and in the midst of witnessing the physical demise of my mother. She was waging a Herculean battle against cancer, managing to hang on for several years to single-handedly raise five kids. I needed a friend, one who had my best interests at heart. A friend who would walk with me through some difficult days of my life. A friend for life.

Tim and I get together every few months, sometimes over a magnificent feast (if that is what you call a BK breakfast sandwich), and sometimes to play a little volleyball. We talk about our marriages, our families, our careers, and our passions. But it all comes back to our spiritual journeys. We bring our authentic selves and listen to each other. We support each other. We challenge each other. We do life with each other.

“As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” ~ Provers 27:17

Tim was there at the beginning of my journey, helping plant the seeds for convictions that have rooted themselves deep within my heart over the past 35 years. He has been there through the various stages of my journey. The good. The bad. The devastatingly ugly. Tim has been a constant.

I’m grateful for the handful of “Tim’s” I have in my life. While a spiritual journey is intensely personal, many of the miles must be traveled in the company of friends – confidants who have your back. Friends who love you at your worst, and still can see you at your best.

These friends are golden.

4 thoughts on “The Gold Standard of Friendship

  1. Beautiful! I am so glad that I have a few “Tims” in my life as well! They are definitely God’s gifts.

    Like

  2. Lifelong friends such as Tim are so precious. We need those people in our lives to bolster us and travel through this journey of life with us.

    Like

  3. I can sing the GS motto for you. It can be done in a round. Did you know that? I have golden friends, too, and understand the importance they play in my life. Lord, help me be the friend I need to others. This is my prayer.

    Like

Comments are closed.